Education Course Required For All Born In 1988 Or Later
LABELLE, FL. -- Boating-safety education requirements change in Florida beginning January 1. Boat operators who were born on or after Jan.1, 1988, must pass an approved boating-safety course and possess photographic identification and a boating-safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) to legally operate a boat with a motor of 10 horsepower or more.
There are a few exceptions. For instance, a person born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, who operates a boat within 90 days after purchasing it, does not need a boating-safety education identification card if a bill of sale, which meets the requirements of Florida law, is onboard. After the 90-day period ends, the boat operator needs to meet the educational requirements. Those who possess a current United States Coast Guard license also are exempt.
For course information and educational requirements, visit MyFWC.com and click �boating,� then click �boating safety.� For inquiries, contact FWC�s Division of Law Enforcement at 850-488-5600, or e-mail questions to the FWC at firstname.lastname@example.org .