Wednesday, November 03, 2004

Electoral College Has Last Say

The procedure for electing a president is spelled out in Article II of the
U.S. Constitution. Each state is entitled to a number of electors equal to
that state's representation in Congress (Senate plus House members). Since
each state has two senators and at least one Representative, every state has
at least three electors. Currently California has the largest number of
electors: 55. The electors meet in their respective state capitals in
December of each election year to cast their votes for president and vice
president. These electors, who together form the electoral college, are the
ones who actually elect the president. If no candidate gets a majority of
the electoral vote, the House of Representatives elects the president, with
each state having one vote. This happened in 1800 and again in 1824.
At least one commentator predicts the presidential election will be handily
won by Kerry-Edwards gaining about 294 of the needed 271 electoral votes

No comments:

Post a Comment