Thursday, May 30, 2013

What's New At the Museum



LABELLE, FL. -- Former LaBelle Heritage Museum president and returning director Addison Austin installed Lynda Rider-Smith, also a former LHM president, as a three-year director. as well as the returning president and vice-president Joe Thomas and Elinor Jones along with newly elected treasurer Ron Zimmerly, who brings his years in both Hendry County and City of LaBelle Finance Departments to the office, and secretary Martha Ratliff, who brings over thirty years experience as a paralegal in Fort Myers and LaBelle to the museum.

In his remarks covering the museum's accomplishments during the 2012/2013 program year Thomas revealed that LaBelle Heritage Museum is closing on a loan that will finance moving the historic 1905 George Aiken house that also served as home to Paul Eddy, LaBelle's first newspaper editor and Hendry County's first school superintendent before becoming the home of the H. A. Rider family for well over forty years and covering Rider's time as county attorney, county judge, and mayor of LaBelle. 

Thomas also singled out H. L. Bennett for donating his time and service as both professional engineer and building contractor to effect the move of the Rider buildings from 150 South Lee Street to 3t60 North Bridge Street where they will join the 1912 William H. Poole store and residence as the LaBelle Heritage Museum Complex. 

Stephen Risley of Oak Electric is donating both time and materials involved in changing electric service from Lee Street to Bridge Street. Risley's late father Joe Risley, Jr., was a stalwart in LaBelle Heritage Museum for many years.

(photo by Jayne Lofton Gourley)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment