Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Two Local Student Scholars To Compete

Linda McVey and Jessica Concha - Math And Science Scholars

LABELLE, FL. -- Two local graduating seniors are among 95 from high schools throughout the state to be designated District Sunshine State Scholars in Mathematics and Science for the current year. 

Named are Cathy McVey of LaBelle High School and Jessica Concha from Moore Haven High School.

They will compete on Wednesday, January 9, 2008 to become one of the ten Regional Scholars to vie in March 2008 for the title Statewide Sunshine State Scholar in Mathematics and Science for 2008.
The Sunshine State Scholars Program was established in 1997 to recognize the achievement of Florida's graduating seniors who have demonstrated excellence in both mathematics and science.  All Scholars receive district recognition and individual awards from the program.  The ten Regional Scholars and their selected teachers receive further recognition from the Governor and Cabinet, the Florida Legislature, the Florida Department of Education, and private businesses.
The Sunshine State Scholars Program is coordinated through the Florida Institute of Education at the University of North Florida.  The program receives support from the Florida Department of Education, the Florida Lottery, the Florida Education Foundation, Florida mathematics and science teachers' and supervisors' organizations, and private corporations.

No comments:

Post a Comment