Monday, January 05, 2015

Healthy Weight 'Champion' Communities Named

The Florida Department of Health is recognizing 65 communities, including Hendry County as the 2015 Healthy Weight Community Champions. Between August and December 2014, local governments were invited to submit best practice policies they have implemented in their jurisdictions over the year.

"The health of Florida's children, adults, and families improves with local solutions,” said State Surgeon General and Secretary of Health Dr. John Armstrong. "The number of recognized counties and municipalities for 2015 has nearly doubled from last year and shows the continuing commitment of local governments to shape healthy communities.”

The Community Champions program is part of the Department's Healthiest Weight Florida initiative. Healthiest Weight Florida is a public-private collaboration bringing together state agencies, not-for-profit organizations, businesses and entire communities to help Florida's children and adults make consistent, informed choices about healthy eating and active living.

2015 Healthy Weight Community Champions:

Alachua County
Broward County
Calhoun County
City of Apalachicola
City of Archer
City of Bradenton
City of Cape Coral
City of Clearwater
City of Coconut Creek
City of Crescent City
City of Deerfield Beach
City of Doral
City of Fernandina Beach
City of Ft. Lauderdale
City of Ft. Walton Beach
City of Hawthorne
City of Jacksonville
City of Jasper
City of Lakeland
City of Largo
City of Live Oak
City of Madison
City of New Smyrna Beach
City of Newberry
City of Oakland Park
City of Orlando
City of Ormond Beach
City of Oviedo
City of Palm Coast
City of Panama City
City of Pensacola
City of Perry
City of Pinellas Park
City of Plantation
City of Port St. Joe
City of Safety Harbor
City of Sanford
City of St. Cloud
City of Tallahassee
City of Tampa
City of West Miami
City of Weston
City of Winter Haven
City of Winter Park
Collier County
Columbia County
Gulf County
Hamilton County
Hendry County
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Jefferson County
Liberty County
Marion County
Nassau County
Polk County
Putnam County
Sarasota County
St. Johns County
Town of Pembroke Park
Town of Penney Farms
Town of Pomona Park
Town of Ponce Inlet
Town of White Springs
Wakulla County

No comments:

Post a Comment