Saturday, June 09, 2012

Hendry 2012 Political Candidates

Six Sheriff Candidates Ready Campaigns
Final Qualifying - Scramble For Position 

LABELLE, FL. -- Candidates for Hendry County's local political positions are lining up for the coming November elections now as the final qualifying period ended Friday, June 8.  As usual, the Sheriff and School Board Superintendent offices seem to have the most interest with more than average candidates qualifying.

Six candidates have qualified to run for Sheriff including incumbent Steve Whidden. Four candidates are running for school superintendent, including incumbent Rick Murphy and four for Election Supervisor as Lucretia Strickland retires after many years in the position.

The County Commission seat of Karson Turner is unopposed as is the School Board seat of Dwayne Brown and Sally Berg's seat, so they are automatic winners. No attorney was willing to challenge long time County Judge James Sloan, so he's in again for another term.

Some seats for water districts, hospital board, and Port LaBelle Development district had only one qualifier so those people will automatically win their respective seats as well.

The following Offices will be up for election and as of June 8, the last day for qualifying, have qualified with the Hendry County, Florida Supervisor of Elections.

Included are phone numbers and email addresses as listed by each candidate with the elections office. (In the past we have noted the majority, if not all candidates, don't seem to respond to emails, or return phone calls. Voters might wish to test each candidate's willingness to respond to voter's inquiries.)

Clerk of Circuit Court
*(Dem) Barbara Cox Butler, P O Box 44, Clewiston, FL  33440
Phone: 863-673-0209  email:
(Rep) Larry Wilcoxson, 100 South Hall Street, Ste. A, LaBelle, FL  33935
Phone: 863-812-0962  email:

(Rep) E. Carmona, 1079 Luckey St., LaBelle, FL 33935 phone: 863-673-6029 email:
(Rep) Mark R. Chamberlain, P O Box 1180, Clewiston, FL 33440 phone: 863-983-7844 email:
(Rep) Raymond A. Van Houten, 590 Brittany Lane, LaBelle, FL 33935 email: phone: 863-944-3996
(Dem) Matthew A. Beatty, 410 E. Osceola Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440 email: phone 863-983-5959
(Dem) Steven Maldonado, P O Box 273, LaBelle, FL 33975 phone:863-673-1971
*(Dem) Steve Whidden, 2100 Scott Rd., LaBelle, FL 33935 phone:863-612-0678

Property Appraiser
*(Dem) Phillip L. Pelletier, 1601 Fort Denaud Rd., LaBelle, FL 33935 email: phone: 863-673-3280
(Rep) Kristina A. Kulpa, 1000 G. Road, LaBelle, FL  33935
Phone: 863-675-3302  e-mail:

Tax Collector
*(Dem) Peggy S. Hampton ,P.O. Box 1019, LaBelle, FL  33975
Phone: 239-250-4032  email:
(Rep) Tom Corbitt, 199 Caloosa Estates Dr., LaBelle, FL 33935 Phone: 863-612-0868

Superintendent of Schools
(Rep) Paul Puletti, 110 Hardee St., LaBelle, FL 33935 phone: 863-675-5921
(Rep) Joel Williamson, 140 Evans Rd., LaBelle, FL 33935 phone: 863-675-4098 email:
*(Dem) Richard A. Rick Murphy, 1832 Red Rd., Clewiston, FL 33440 phone: 561-248-8100 email:

Supervisor of Elections
(Rep) Kevin Drummond, 4717 Sandlewood Ln., LaBelle, FL 33935
Phone: 863-234-3480 email:
(Dem) Kim Harris-White, P O Box 661, Felda, FL 33930-0661 phone:863-257-0070 email:
(Dem) Brenda Hoots, 580 N. Hacienda St., Clewiston, FL 33440 Phone: 863-885-1756 email:
(NPA) Rose Raulerson-Mason, 469 Maple Dr., LaBelle, FL 33935
Phone: 863-234-6401 email:

County Judge (Non-partisan)
James D. Sloan, P O Box 1695, LaBelle, FL 33975

County Commission District #1
*(Dem) Janet B. Taylor, P O Box 764, Clewiston, FL  33440
Phone: 863-228-0612  email:
(Dem) Pamela B. Jackson, P O Box 1201, Clewiston, FL 33440
Phone: 863-228-3278 email:

County Commission District #3
*(Rep) Tristan G. Chapman, 405 Live Oak Ln., LaBelle, FL 33935
(Dem) Don Davis, 93 S. Hall St., LaBelle, FL  33935, Phone:  863-234-1581

County Commission District #5
*(Dem)  Karson C. Turner, P.O. Box 1688, Clewiston, FL  33440
Phone: 863-983-4101. email:

School Board District #1 (Non-partisan)
*Dwayne E. Brown P O Box 684, Clewiston, FL  33440

School Board District #2
*Sally Berg, 125 Wilson Rd, LaBelle, FL  33935
Phone (863) 675-2604

School Board District #4 (Nonpartisan)
Stephanie Busin, 429 Royal Palm Ave., Clewiston, FL  33440
Phone 239- 229-6985 email:
John Perry, 105 Myrtle Lane, Clewiston, FL  33440
Phone 863- 677-1333 email:
Cynthia Luevano Potter, 708 W. Avenida del Rio, Clewiston, FL 33440
Phone 863-228-3322  email:

Hendry Hospital Authority District #1
Victor P. Blandford, 333 W. Aztec Ave., Clewiston, FL  33440
Hendry Hospital Authority District #3
John Benkert, 5263 River Blossom Ln., LaBelle, FL  Phone: 863-675-4535
Hendry Hospital Authority District #5
Hugh Dyol Turner, P O Box 1688, Clewiston, FL

Hendry Soil and Water Conservation District Seat #2
James Mabry McCray, 928 Sawgrass St., Clewiston, FL  Phone: 863-902-0037

Hendry Soil and Water Conservation District Seat #4
Robert E. McDaniel, Jr., 33465 CR 833, Clewiston, FL  Phone: 863-202-5473

Port LaBelle Community Development District Seat #2
Port LaBelle Community Development District Seat #4
*Jennifer Daniels Derleth, 7009 Alfa Circle, LaBelle, FL  33935 Phone: 863-673-4934

East County Water Control District Seat #1
*Michael J. Welch, 1923 Golfside Village Dr., Lehigh Acres, FL  33936 Phone: 239-565-8450

East County Water Control District Seat #3
Joseph L. Whalen, 1402 4th St. E, Lehigh Acres, FL 33936 phone: 239-633-9423

East County Water Control District Seat #5
Edward T. Weiner, 20048 Lake Vista Cir., Lehigh Acres, FL 33936 phone: 954-648-5458

Central County Water Control District Seat #2
Miguel A. Solar, 303 Camino Real Blvd, Clewiston, FL 33440 Phone: 954-471-6888
*Jessie Necolettos, Jr., 680 S. Arboleda Street, Clewiston, FL  33440 Phone: 983-6864

Central County Water Control District Seat #4
Billy Haithcock, 545 N. Isora St., Clewiston, FL  863-233-2437
*Charles Bamburg 830 N. Utopia St, Clewiston, FL  33440

City of Clewiston, 3 Seats
Phillip D. Roland, 340 W. Ventura Ave., Clewiston, FL  33440 Phone: 863- 228-3427
Donald W. Hughes, 219 W. Avendia Del Rio, Clewiston, FL  33440 Phone 863- 228-1554 email:
Julio Rodriguez, 602 W. Avenida Del Rio, Clewiston, FL  33440 Phone 863- 228-0687 email:
Jerry Cochrane, 219 Ridgewood Avenue, Clewiston, FL  33440 Phone 863- 983-2650 email:
M. “Mali”  Soto Gardner, 1015 Ponce de Leon Ave., Clewiston, FL 33440 Phone: 863-902-7050  email:
James Bret Nesbitt, 104 Ridgewood Ave., Clewiston, FL  33440 Phone (941) 902-2709 ( Nesbitt has dropped out of the race)

* Incumbent

No comments:

Post a Comment