MOORE HAVEN, FL. -- The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission will host a free hunter safety course on April 27 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in Glades County. Another course is scheduled on May 4 from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. in Hendry County.
Participants must successfully complete the online portion of the course prior to attending and bring the final Web report to the FWC course on April 27. It does not have to be notarized.
Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling and hunter ethics/responsibility, among other topics, before taking the final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a shooting range.
The class is at the Glades County Sheriff's Office Shooting Range in Moore Haven on Gun Club Road (north of the city barn), 3 miles north of U.S. 27 on State Road 78, and 6 miles south of Lakeport, near the Fisheating Creek entrance. (GPS will not work for this location.)
The course in Hendry is at the County Sheriff’s Office shooting range, between Clewiston and La Belle, 0.7 miles down Witt Road off State Road 80, 9 miles west of U.S. 27. Take the first road east of the Pioneer Shell Gas Station.
Participants can sign up at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety or by calling the FWC’s South Region Office at 561-625-5122. A link to the online part of the course and a statewide schedule of hunter safety classes are available at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety.
Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved hunter-safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting license. Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years of age to all classes. To participate in live-fire exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental release form signed by a parent or legal guardian.