Hunter And Gun Safety At Free Classes
MOORE HAVEN, FL. -- The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission will host a free hunter safety course on January 15th in Glades County.
Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling and hunter ethics and responsibility, among other topics, before taking the final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a shooting range.
This class will be held at the Glades County Sheriff's Office Shooting Range on Gun Club Road (north of city barn), 3 miles north of U.S. 27 on State Road 78, 6 miles south of Lakeport, on the west side of Moore Haven (between Moore Haven and Lakeport). The class is from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Space is limited and reservations are required. Participants can make reservations at MyFWC.com/HunterSafety or by calling 561-625-5122.
Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved hunter safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting license. Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years of age to all classes. To participate in the live-fire exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental release form signed by a parent or legal guardian.